Who needs fructose anyways?

As if competition dieting wasn’t restrictive enough, add a food intolerance on top of that, fructose intolerance.

After many visits to the doctor and multiple tests, I was finally diagnosed with fructose intolerance. Whew, what a relief! Finally an answer to why I had been having stomach aches and digestive problems for most of my life. Even as a little girl, I can remember complaining of ‘tummy aches’ after eating well, almost anything. For the longest time, doctors quickly passed me off as someone who just had IBS, which doesn’t come as a surprise because of the lack of knowledge and awareness at the time.

It has been nearly 4 years since I was diagnosed. There is still so much that I have had to learn on my own simply because fructose intolerance is not as prevalent as some of the others. Makes me wonder how many are being misdiagnosed like I once was?

It’s always interesting to try to explain to people why I can’t eat hardly anything off the menu at restaurants or have to kindly pass on certain dishes at social functions, family gatherings, etc. It’s not that I’m being picky, believe me, I’d eat most of the food if I could! So let me try to break it down…

Fructose intolerance aka fructose malabsorbtion is a condition in which a person lacks the protein needed to break down fructose, so the body cannot absorb it. So because my body cannot absorb it, it goes all the way down to the lower intestine, a place where fructose is NEVER supposed to be and what happens from there, well, you guessed it…to put it simply, all hell breaks loose.

So what has fructose? A whole slew of things that you and I would never think of.  And through trial and error, I have been able to eliminate all problematic foods from my diet: that’s fructose itself (in processed food) as well as fruit, fruit juice, jam, any artificial sweeteners (soo bad), HFCS (High Fructose Corn Sryup…the worst!), and fructans which are just as bad and if not worse! Such fructans include wheat, spelt, kamut, and all onion stuff basically. I have to be a serious detective when it comes to reading labels because wheat, fruit products and artificial sweeteners are hidden in just about EVERYTHING. Fructose is not an essential nutrient, meaning everyone can live without fructose, so ‘fructose deficiency’ does not exist.

What I have found is that if I stick to a “Gluten-Free” and “Wheat-Free” diet and stay away from fruits and most veggies, I’m good to go. So what in the world do I eat then? A lot of chicken breast, fish, leafy greens, zucchini, squash and green beans. Yum. So now you know more than you probably wanted to know about my digestive system. Cheers. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Who needs fructose anyways?

  1. Looks like you are stuck in contest prep!
    Really interesting! I have been diagnosed with IBS as well. Which is sort of a made up excuse doctors give you when they can’t figure out what is the cause of the problem. Unfortunately my problems aren’t the same as your’s as I dont have problems with fruit, or artificial sweetners. But I also find a diet free of gluten is the best way for me to get by! Looks like trial and error is the only way to do it!

    All the best! And hope your Contest Prep is going great! Rock that stage!

    ~Amanda Lee

    • Hi Amanda!

      Sure am. 🙂

      Exactly! Gluten-free food really has it’s benefits. It seems that more and more people are developing food intolerances and I believe that it’s because of what the food industry has pumped into the stuff that we eat. We are only learning now how harmful all of that junk is because of the effects that is having on our bodies.

      It’s interesting to look back at our parent’s generation – none of that artificial stuff was around and people were healthier & far less obese. Definitely sheds light on the benefits of clean eating & natural foods!

  2. Oh my gosh!!! We share such a similar story. As a little kid I was put through colonoscopy after colonoscopy and imagine an 8 year old doing that prep!!! Doctor after doctor I was misdiagnosed and told it was IBS. At 23 I find out I have a gluten intolerance and had to beg the doctor to the test! GO FIGURE!!!

    • Hey Anise,

      It’s crazy, isn’t it? I often think back to how much better I would’ve felt when I was young if I would’ve just known. Instead, I was consuming all of the foods that most kids eat – pizza, candy, fruit snacks, toaster strudels, BREAD, etc! It’s sad that I remember past events b/c of how uncomfortable I was!

      Cheers to knowing & spreading the word sista!

  3. Hi Brittany!
    I recently found out that I cannot have gluten. At first I was bummed but now that I have cut the gluten out in my diet, I feel 100% better! It’s amazing how much of a difference it has made in my life. I love to cook and have found many gluten free recipes….hooray for being gluten-free and staying healthy!

Leave a Reply

