What’s Next?

Much has happened since my last blog post and I’m kickin’ myself in the butt a bit for not having posted in a while….but such is life. So here I am, ready to get back at it and  share my journey of transformation.

So what’s new? Well, I now have another competition under my belt. I stepped on stage at the WBFF Central Championship in Kansas City in the Diva Bikini division. Although I didn’t place, it was another great experience and I met so many fantastic and inspiring individuals. I took a lot away from the competition and have a running list of what I want to improve upon for my next show.

I’ve learned that it takes time and a handful of competitions for your body to really peak at it’s best. Just like any sporting competition/event, you don’t usually perform at your best every time. It takes continual practice, and a little or a lot of tweaking, whether it be diet or prep. Drastic changes can happen even with the slightest alterations to your training or diet. For me, chewing even 1 piece of gum can blow me up like a balloon so it’s very important that I stick to my diet 100% leading up to my comps.

Towards the end of my prep, carbs are at an all time low as with energy levels. Workouts become harder to get through and the intensity at which I’m performing has diminished quite a bit. This is inevitable. The only way to get through it is by putting mind over matter. The mind is a powerful thing and we must use it to our advantage. At times, I’ll find myself thinking too many thoughts of doubt and I’ve learned that as soon as those negative thoughts come into my head, I must stop them dead in their tracks. I believe that a lot of what happens is a result of negative or positive thinking. Many athletes will visualize themselves from start to finish in an upcoming race. By putting yourself in that mindset and believing that you will succeed, you begin to live it out and your actions follow. It’s my plan to continue to use visualization as a technique in my training. Visualization can be used for many things in life, give it a try and if anything, you’ll find that it’s a great way to unwind and relax.

The day prior to my comp and the day of are always the most trying times for me – from travel to the event, photo shoots, check ins, and final preparation, and the comp itself, it’s a whirlwind and at times exhausting. Making complete sure I’m armed with my meals and that I’m getting them in at the correct hour is essential. I found it difficult to get my meals in between all of the hustle and bustle and because of that my body paid the toll. You wouldn’t think it, but when you aren’t eating every 2-3 hours as you have been weeks leading up to your competition, it has an adverse effect on your body by bloating. I looked tighter the day before my comp than on the actual day of.  When your body is in a resting state for an extended period, I believe that it can take on a softer appearance. Although there is a lot packed into the schedule during a competition, there is also a lot of waiting around thus it’s important to keep the blood pumping and it helps to perform simple exercises with a resistance band to appear more vascular.  There are many other techniques that I personally haven’t tried, like drinking wine or popping in a few pieces of chocolate or candy right before you go on stage to fill out your muscles. For me, wine and candy is out of the question due to my intolerance to fructose. It’s really trial and error to figure out how your body is going to react and sometimes it could be very detrimental for some, especially in my case.

There is still so much to learn and for me that is the most exciting part. Without continual education and taking chances, how would we ever get any better at the things we are passionate about? My journey has really only began. So what’s next? I’ve got my sites set on a couple of comps in August and September. What I have found is that If I continue to set goals for myself by committing to compete in a certain competition, I’m much more apt to stay on track otherwise I feel like I’m in limbo. For everyone it’s different but for me, that’s what keeps me going.

Stay tuned for details on what show I’ll be competing in next…till then, happy training. 🙂

PS. It’s a little known fact that fitness & bodybuilder competitors rid themselves of any visible hair before a comp as it helps muscles to look more defined. Never, EVER use Nair on your stomach or anywhere for that matter. I learned the hard way and 2 days before my comp by totally burning myself. Not really sure what I was thinking?!  Thank goodness for stage makeup & for professionals who know what they are doing!

5 thoughts on “What’s Next?

  1. I really, really, really needed to read this post and Please bear with me if this turns into a novel. I am doing my first fitness competition in 30 days and I am scared, and worried that I wont be at my “peak”. Thank you for reminding me that It may take my body a few tries at it before it hits its optimal level. At the same time I need to remind myself THIS IS THE BEST I HAVE EVER LOOKED and THE HARDEST I have ever trained.

    I love this sport. I love the way it has transformed me. But I need to be more positive and think positive as you say (visualise) See my goal and BE it 🙂

    My question for you is then….you didn’t eat ANY gum? How did you deal with cravings? What were some thing you DID eat…pickles? Salsa? Mustard? Being a first time competitior I am learning about my body, but at the same tiem I feel like I don’t know many of the “trick” or hints” or “tips” people know.

    Would you be willing to share?

    • Thanks for reading my blog! Love the comment and I’m happy to help in any way that I can. We all learn from each others experiences so never be afraid to ask any question no matter what it is.

      First of all, congrats on prepping for your first comp. Don’t worry at all that you won’t be at your peak. To be honest, there really is no way of knowing what your peak is until your body has gone through this kind of a prep a handful of times. When I first stepped on stage at the Arnold this past March, I knew that I still had work to do but I wasn’t afraid to get up there and give it my all. What is so neat about the human body is that it is ever evolving and it takes time to really figure out how your body is going to respond to certain training and dieting techniques. Getting on stage is a huge accomplishment in itself so be proud of yourself and what you have achieved girl!! 🙂 I would definitely agree that it’s a great sport, so many opportunities and just knowing that you are doing it for yourself and no body else is satisfaction in itself.

      During my 2nd prep, yes, I did chew gum and I feel like I paid for it by doing so. One thing that I have noticed along the way amongst other competitors and myself included is that when we cut out the non-approved foods from our comp diet, we tend to replace them with other artificial treats out there. You may have have heard of the line of dressings, marinade, chocolate sauces, etc. that Walden Farms makes. They are all 0 fat, 0 calorie, 0 carb and some taste great. The drawback, they are filled with Splenda and other artificial ingredients which is so much worse than eating the real thing in full fat, full calories in my opinion. As I’m sure you’ve read, our bodies don’t know what to do with the artificial stuff we put into them thus they wreak havoc on us. I’ve read a lot about artificial sweeteners and how they trick your brain into making you more hungry. And the worst of it, your body reads it as the real stuff rather than 0 calorie as it claims. I’ve since committed to cutting all artificial crap out of my diet and i feel so much better.

      So as far as cravings go, hang in there! I know it’s not easy. Instead of grabbing a piece of gum, try adding a few drops of lemon juice to your water or what I love to do is put tea bags in my water. There are so many great flavors of tea out there and what’s even better is that it’s all natural! 🙂 Hot tea is also a great alternative. I know for some it’s hard to drink hot stuff when the weather is warm but if u can do it, it’s a nice way to curb your appetite.

      With my fructose intolerance, I can’t handle salsa and am not a big fan of pickles. You also need to be careful of not loading up on too much sodium, especially with those pickles. Since you are 30 days away, I would try to limit your sodium intake quite a bit. The week before your comp, all sodium should be eliminated. Really, the best advice is to LOAD up on water. That really is your best best. Good luck and keep me posted on your comp!!! 🙂

    • Thank you thank you thank you, for all the grreat tips and advice. I am limiting my gum intake for sure….cut out the pickles…MAYBE on if I am feeling the need for it but the low sodium kind. and Having as much water and herbal tea as possible.

      I am not one for diet soda….but what are your thoughts on Perrier?

      thanks again.

      24 days now till stage time!

Leave a Reply

